Lard = The Glory of Kolo Mee

Lard

I FINALLY FOUND IT!!! I may have not blogged about this before but I went through a period of time where I craved for gan mien soooo much so I googled up recipes for kolo mee and well, guess what I found!!! The heavenly kolo mee recipe by studentonabudget!!! My gosh I was soooo excited, so happy, so touched (‘cos finally can eat gan mien in Australia T_T), so emo etc wtf.

BUT! I was basically thrown back to hell after being in heaven for that few minutes – because I found out that I’d need lard for the ingredients. And no, I can’t substitute it for any other oil/animal fat/vegetable fat/whatever ‘cos it just won’t taste the same!

At first I was hopeful. I thought I’d be able to find them as long as my will is strong and my heart is determined (wtf). But most of the supermarkets I visited disappointed me. Well, I found duck fat and ducks are not pigs are they. =( So I thought oh well, maybe I’ll have to try oriental stores instead since Asians are more likely to cook & consume unhealthy food compared to the angmohs, hahahaha. But everytime I asked the owners of the stores if they sell lard, they look at me like I’m a crazy woman asking if they sell cow dung šŸ˜¦

In the end, I had NO CHOICE but to buy a block of animal fat from the supermarket WTFFFF. The result of my first gan mien attempt? FAIL. I think the animal fat was a mixture of lamb fat/duck fat/chicken fat/pork fat that I felt sick at just the thought of it. But I finished my plate nonetheless. /digs throat and vomits

Several months later…… I was browsing through the cheese and dips area in IGA one evening and suddenly, my instincts told me to look at the 38th item from the left on the top row and I just couldn’t believe my eyes ‘cos the 4 sweet letters on that white innocent tub spelt L-A-R-D.

This time, the dish tasted sooooooo much better although I still can’t find the perfect noodles to imitate the real thing.

Gan mien lovers overseas or in Semenanjung who crave for a bowl of goodness now should IMMEDIATELY RUSH OUT TO GET YOUR TUB OF LARD AND START COOKING!

A zillion thanks to studentonabudget once again!

I love my lard. šŸ˜€

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

