Scammer Warning

As you all know, I am currently looking for a new place to move to and finding a place that you really like and you’re willing to pay for can be a real pain in the arse. I started looking for a place to move since 1 to 2 months ago but it was still too early to settle anything just yet. Right now, the stick’s really going up my ass because I only have a week left (!!!) to tell my current agent whether or not I’m continuing my current lease for another 12 months.

So. As you can imagine, I’ve been spending countless days and nights surfing real estate websites searching for the so-called “perfect” place to move to. Just last Friday, we found this place in Northbridge, which is literally right next to the city, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 parking bays, air-conditioned and fully furnished, going for only $300 a week!! Imagine the disbelief and the secret excitement I had in me when I first saw the ad.

“Are you kidding me? This is too good to be true!” I had said.

Two days later, the online property website sent me an email saying that the ad was a fake. So I went, oh alright, yeah, it’s really too good to be true, haha. Plus I prayed the night before that if possible, I would like to move to that place but if I don’t get it, I’d understand because there must be a reason why. My answer was given to me immediately the next day, haha.

Anyway, just yesterday, the scammer actually had the GUTS to email me to inform me that the property is still available for rent (the online website had taken the ad down). So I thought, wtf.

This morning I googled up the person’s name and found out that quite a couple of others also came across this scammer. Some of them even lost their money to them 😦

So guess what, I decided to post the email written by this person, together with his/her name (which is fake for sure but oh well) & email address so whoever comes across this entry, will know that that person is a scammer who should be scammed in return wtf.

Re: [domain.com.au] 250 Bulwer Street Perth WA 6000 (Contact: Natalie Attwater)

Sender: Natalie Attwater [deonbooset7e@gmail.com]

Sent: Mon 19/4/2010 4:43 PM

Hello,

           Thanks for your response,i really appreciate your response,i am the owner of the apartment,it is located in 3/250 Bulwer Street, Perth  WA 6000.I am presently on Transfer from my place of work to Rome/Italy to head our branch over there and presently my house is still available for rent for $300 p/w for the duration of time you want including bills and utilities like Linen, Washing Machine, Dryer, Iron, vacuum cleaner.

     It is Newly furnished and equipped,the furniture’s are new and well decorated.also it is located near public transport,there are shopping mall,Gym,schools and more better facilities in the area,below are some of the items in the house

 – Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Freezer, Cooking rings, Oven, Dinnerware and serving pieces, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Kettle, Mixer..

– TV, cable TV basic access, Internet by ADSL-CABLE + WIFI ACCESS.

           I want you to note that i am a kind and honest person (Puh-leeeze!!!) and also i spent a lot on my property that i want to give you for rent,so i will solicit for your absolute maintenance of this apartment and want you to treat it as your own.     

         Obviously we need a safe way to complete this deal that will allow us to make sure we receive what we are after.I have found a way for us to complete the deal fast (2 days) and easy. The solution is a worldwide delivery company called Royal Mail, they will provide assistance in handling the payment and delivery of the KEYS and LEASE AGREEMENT.With this procedure you will be able to check the apartment before I receive the payment.

 Have a nice day!

There you go. Take care all of you out there and don’t be fooled!

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

4 thoughts on “Scammer Warning”

  1. hey! that was a timely entry!
    my partner and i were in the same situation with you – we called up the agency only to be told that it was an old advert. and the next thing that happened – voila, we received an email (same email address!) that has the same story as this – with different address of course! we’re in melbourne, and a city apartment going for less than A$200/week? no way!
    but we still held on, hoping that it really *might* be true, and also were very skeptical in the mean time. we googled the email address to no avail last night. but our doubts have been confirmed by your entry… thank you so much for sharing!!
    if it’s too good to be true, it probably is!

    1. Hi there!! So glad I can be of help to others!! We’re considered “lucky” as we didn’t lose any money to the scammer, though I won’t say it’s a lucky thing to start with anyway, haha.

      Anyway, good luck with the property hunting!! =)

  2. Dear Jessica,

    thank-you so much for this blog, you have saved me untold heartache and lost monies, just proves if it’s too god to be true, ut probably is. O nce again,THANK-YOU……

    1. Hi John,

      You’re welcome. It’s good to be able to help others when I can.

      Good luck to your property hunting as well! =)

Leave a Reply

