The Hug

I had a dream last night. In my dream, I was at the airport, flying off to somewhere.

For some reason, my paperwork wasn’t complete and I was told to fill in some forms at the counter. Just as I was filling in the form, my father came by. I saw him coming in and I motioned him to take a seat and wait while I fill in the paperwork. He sat there quietly while I studied the form carefully.

After some painful minutes of filling in the form several times because I was told by the lady that I didn’t answer the questions accordingly, I was done. Ready to go! I turned around to find my father sitting there quietly, his legs crossed in front of him comfortably. I walked towards him and he got up.

“Why isn’t mum here?” I asked. He gently shook his head. Mum must be busy, I thought to myself.

It was time to leave so I leaned forward and gave my father a hug. A long, warm embrace. I felt my arms tightened around him when I realized I was actually hugging my father. This familiar yet strange feeling. When was the last time we actually hugged like this? I couldn’t even remember. All I knew was, he was here, well and alive, reciprocating my embrace. I couldn’t be any happier and relieved. I’m hugging my dad.

When we finally pulled apart, I woke up. And fell right back asleep a few seconds later.

It wasn’t until I woke up this morning that I realized, my father is no longer here. I felt slightly suffocated and my heart twitched. And then I remembered the hug. And felt so lucky to have been able to experience that. Even if it was only in my dreams.

I miss you, dad.

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

