A Little Miracle

I have a story to share today.

This morning, we were supposed to head to Kitchen Warehouse first thing in the morning to grab their Boxing Day bargain – a Baccarat Luke Nguyen mortar & pestle with bamboo board set discounted from $79.99 to $19.99!

Well, we did wake up early at 7 a.m. but we also dilly-dallied around the house for another 2.5 hours. So, by the time we reached the store in Melville, it was about 10 a.m. Only to find that the mortar & pestle sets have SOLD OUT COMPLETELY. Arggghhh!!! We were both pretty upset because I’ve wanted a mortar & pestle for ages already but I never got one. So, I decided to call up other stores to check if they still had any left. The Carousel store had sold out completely as well but the Osborne Park store had seven left.

“THEY HAVE SEVEN LEFT. LET’S GO NOW!” I told Kin then we rushed into the car and sped off. The shitty thing is, Melville now seems so far away from Osborne Park now that there are only seven sets left and the lights were red ALL the way there! I said a little prayer on the way there, hoping that we would reach in time to grab ourselves a set.

When we finally reached the store, I hopped out of the car and went right into the store and asked the lady at the entrance whether they still had any left. Lucky me, there was still one left! All the items on the Boxing Day sale pallet were gone. Boy, was I glad! I walked quickly towards the pallet, happy as can be because we’re finally getting one!

But guess what. Another lady was there before me and she placed two items on top of the box. I didn’t think that the gesture meant that she wanted the mortar & pestle set so I reached down and tried to grab the box before anyone else did. Just when I bent down, she turned to look at me and we both paused. It was then that I knew we weren’t getting one today. SIGHHHH…… And almost everyone queuing up at the cashier’s line had a set on their hands/in their trolley. One lady even had TWO in her trolley, argggghhhh!!! How frustrating is that!

Kin then came into the store after he parked his car and I told him, “They had one left, but a lady took it before me. Right before my eyes.” He got quite upset and said we should go home there and then. But I told him to wait a little ‘cos who knows, someone might change their mind and put it back so we could grab it instead! Hehehehehe… He still insisted on going home so we had to. 😦

BUT! Just outside the store, I saw something that caught my eye – a frying pan discounted from $119 to $30. Our current frying pan is in a very poor condition and we were planning to get a new one anyway so I showed him that and now we had to head back into the store to pay for it. Kin cooled down a little and started browsing around. We grabbed another container set and a food chopper by Maxwell & Williams. Next, queuing up time!

A few minutes into queuing up, I suddenly noticed one of the sales ladies holding a set, walking towards the bargain pallet. I stopped talking about whatever I was talking about immediately and told Kin what I saw. He then nudged me and told me to grab it right away and I did. In fact, I ran towards the lady, hahahaha! Just as she turned around after putting it down, I asked if I could grab it and she went, “Yeah, go for it!” YIPEE YAY!!!

You should’ve seen the grin on my face as I turned around. One of the guys lining up saw me (he was carrying one set as well) and he smiled at me – I must’ve looked ridiculously overjoyed, hahahaha!!!

So here it is, my very own Baccarat Luke Nguyen mortar & pestle set sitting on my kitchen worktop right now. I am a happy girl today.

My little story here today also shows that with a little prayer and a little patience, little miracles do happen!

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

2 thoughts on “A Little Miracle”

  1. super like this one!!!!! xD

    i totally can imagine the grin on your face HAHAHAHA! I remember you bought a set of scanpan. A SET!! and you said u got no more frying pan? @@

Leave a Reply

