Baking: Banana Cake

Happy New Year everyone! Today’s the last day of holiday for me before I head back to the office tomorrow, boohoo 😦 So as to enjoy the last afternoon of my Christmas holiday, I decided to bake a cake!

I did a quick search online for banana cake recipes since I bought way too many bananas the other day (whoopsie!). This cake‘s very easy to make and doesn’t require too many ingredients, so it works great for me since I’m just a newbie in baking, hehe.

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz butter (110 grams)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • ¼ cup milk
  • 1½ cup self-raising flour (sifted)
  • ¾ cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ teaspoon bicarbonate soda
  • 3 medium bananas, well-mashed

Method:

  • Pre-heat oven at 180 degrees
  • Place butter and sugar in mixing bowl and beat with electric mixer until well mixed
  • Add in vanilla essence and eggs (one at a time), beating well
  • Add in mashed bananas
  • Add in sifted flour
  • Dissolve bicarb soda in milk and add into mixture, mix well
  • Pour mixture into lined baking tin and bake until sides of cake come away from the baking tin (approximately 45 minutes)

Please excuse the very Asian-looking bowl with the mashed bananas here, hahahahahah!!!

TADA!!! Tasted quite alright I’d say 🙂

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

2 thoughts on “Baking: Banana Cake”

  1. This looks delicious! I’ve never tried banana cake before, only have done banana muffins and bread. I’d love to try this recipe!

    1. Hello there! Guess what, I suspect that banana cakes are actually similar to banana bread, lol! So they might turn out to be exactly the same! 😀

Leave a Reply

