Creative Project: Glass Base Table Lamps

Hi everyone, glad it’s the weekend once again. How’s yours been so far? The mister and I have been kept busy the whole day today. Spent the morning doing gardening in our front yard, trimming hedges, pruning overgrown plants and weeding. There were light showers in the morning so we stopped a little in between. We finally got everything done after lunchtime, hooray!

I started surfing the net for table lamps after lunch. I’ve been hunting for nice table lamps for our bedroom for quite some time now but the ones I fancy are just too expensive. For example, I came to like Wilshire table lamps (with stacked crystal balls) but the nicer looking ones would cost over $150, boohoo!! Here are two that I fell in love with from Pottery Barn itself alone!

Stacked Crystal Table Lamp from Pottery Barn. So pretty!!!

Atrium Glass Table Lamp from Pottery Barn. So amazing that one could put different unique items into the lamp base! Love the idea of this.

Since these lamps are way over our budget, I decided we should just make our own table lamps! I pestered the mister to accompany me shopping for the materials needed for this DIY project and he very reluctantly obliged, lol!!! Reason being he was in the middle of his Assassins Creed 3 gaming session hahahaha!

Anyway, we spent the next two and a half hours shopping for the materials, can you believe it? Had to get each item in different shops altogether, most of our time was wasted on just driving alone.

Once we got home, I couldn’t wait to start working on the project right away, lol! In the end, I didn’t end up doing anything, ‘cos the glass drilling bit seemed too dangerous and I was a little scared to do it as well, so I got the mister to do it instead hahahaha! As expected, he worked on the electrical bits as well. I took charge of holding the glasses in place while he drilled holes in them, washed them, towel-dried them and placed them on our bedside tables. Phew, that was a LOT of work back there 😛

And this is the final result of our DIY project!!!

I love it to bits!!! And they cost less than $50 each!

Can’t wait to work on our next DIY project soon!! Yayyy!!!

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

4 thoughts on “Creative Project: Glass Base Table Lamps”

  1. And the best part is creating new things together, no? 🙂 It was a time well spent just with each other. Highest quality time.

  2. HI Jessica, I have also been googling lovely lamps as I cannot find anything for our new bedroom… it’s all a bit boring! It looks like you took a vase and tipped it over a gorgeous plant, is that what you did? I can get some large glass jars but I am stuck with what happens after that! Please tell me exactly what you did, especially with regards to what electrical items you bought and how you put them together, also where did you buy yours? I would put the “wiring” bits in the jar top- maybe in a cork?- and then I need a hole at the back to put things inside. I’m stuck, please consider sharing your knowledge! Regards, Leanne in South Africa

    1. Hi Leanne,

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂 Yes we used a vase as the base of the lamp and bought lamp shades separately to fit them on. We drilled a hole at the base of each vase for the wiring to go through. I know in some countries one can buy ready-made lamp kits. I couldn’t find any where I live so I ended up buying really cheap disposable lamps and used their wiring bits instead. I did not need to put them in a cork because you can simply screw it on. One side on the inside of the vase and the other side on the outside (don’t know if I’m making sense here…)

      Try this link here ‘cos that’s the one I got my inspiration from. Gave it a little tweak here and there: http://rockybella.blogspot.com.au/2011/04/diy-clear-glass-lamp.html

      Good luck with yours!!

Leave a Reply

