Creative Project: DIY Headboard

Hello lovelies! I finally came across something blog-worthy this week, hehehehe. Yours truly completed another DIY project with Mr S this week (actually Mr S did most of the tough job while I just gave him instructions, lol! :lol:) and I can’t wait to show you the final outcome!

So, WE completed a headboard this week!! I’ve been wanting a tufted headboard ever since I saw this one from Urban Outfitters. Targets in US sell plenty of nice looking headboards as well for reasonable prices. But I can’t seem to find any within my budget in Perth 😦 I tried looking for them on Gumtree as well but no one seems to be selling them at all, boohoo. So when I found out that people actually MAKE their own headboards, I thought, AHA! Maybe I can make my own too! And onto the to-do list it went!

Last week, we finally took the time to finally begin this long-awaited DIY project idea of mine, haha. Honestly, I thought I might never come around to actually doing this project because that’s how slacked I am. Anyway, I’m glad we decided to just go for it because we really love how it turned out, yay!!!

I won’t go into lengthy discussion of how we actually made the board, you can find plenty of tutorials online by searching “DIY headboard”. I took instructions from a few different sites and combined them. The duration of the project took longer than I expected though because other bloggers made it seem quite easy! Maybe we’re just not very good at DIY, lol! 😦

Okay, let me show you some photos I took of it today!

Headboard

Our DIY headboard! I’m not very good with the tufting so you can’t really see the “diamonds” here. Or it could be just that the fabric that I used wasn’t the easiest to deal with. I got the fabric (premium linen) from Spotlight in “stone”. This was actually the second piece that I got because the first piece that I got wasn’t quite what I wanted and I only realized that when I got home and put it against our bedroom wall 😦 Now I just have to find something to do with that first piece of fabric that I got.

Headboard leg

The legs are from Bunnings. I didn’t actually know that Bunnings stock furniture legs as well! What a pleasant surprise! And I painted them white.

Bedroom 1

This is our bedroom now. It looks more “finished” with the headboard against the wall! I LOVE IT!!!

Bedroom 2

One more from the front. I’m thinking of adding more colors to the bed – thinking of getting cushions with pop of colors or with funky patterns to liven things up a bit more.

Bedroom 3

So, what do you think of our new DIY headboard? Yay or nay?

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

4 thoughts on “Creative Project: DIY Headboard”

  1. Hi, this is really a pretty headboard. Can u please tell me what material you use and where did you get them from to make this headboard? Really appreciate it if you can tell me. I have been looking for an australian blogger to do a DIY tuffed headboard so that I can ask them where they got their material from, thanks.

    1. Dear Lesley,

      Thank you!! These were the materials I used:

      Fabric – Spotlight
      Batting/Wadding – Spotlight
      Self cover buttons – Spotlight
      Peg board – Bunnings
      Furniture legs – Bunnings
      Foam – Clark Rubber (I got the ready-made mattress instead of the custom-cut foam because it was cheaper and it was the thickness that I wanted. Had to do the cutting by ourselves though but it sure wasn’t difficult)

      Good luck with yours!!!

  2. Thanks for replying 🙂 may I also ask how did u attach the leg to the board? Do u have a tutorial where I can follow this? Thanks.

    1. The furniture legs came with screws so all we did was drill two holes on the board. Forgot to mention that we did create an internal frame with pine wood to support the whole board.

Leave a Reply

