So, I’m Back to Work

Yes, back to the workforce I go, despite the fact that I’ll be delivering another baby in just a few more months, hahahaha!! 😜

I’ve been feeling slightly nervous in the days leading up to yesterday. Mainly because I don’t know how Naomi will cope at daycare. She still had problems settling herself to sleep during snooze times — she’ll only settle down and take her naps/sleep if I lie down next to her. 😣

So, I’ve been trying to get her to get used to sleeping without having me lie down next to her. (Imagine having me squeeze inside her cot with her at night with my baby bump! 🤰🏻 Man, oh, man it’s a torture for BOTH of us!) I slowly transitioned from lying down next to her, to sitting at one end of the cot and singing songs to her to calm her down, to lying on a mattress outside the cot while she’s inside and having me holding her hand.

I was quite surprised when the carers told me that she coped so well yesterday! Ate a good portion of her lunch, had her morning tea, and most of all, took her two naps while she was there! And she didn’t need someone to lie down next to her, lol. But one of the carers had to sit next to the cot while she settled herself down to sleep though, haha!

Last night, I didn’t even have to hold her hand for her to fall asleep, hahaha! I just lied down on the mattress next to her cot and she fell asleep on her own. FINALLY!!! I was always reluctant to try out the CIO (cry-it-out) sleep training method ‘cos she’s the kind of baby who wouldn’t stop crying until you give in. 😓

img-1

Taken just as I parked outside the childcare centre. She was clueless as to what was gonna happen next. 😢 She did, however, attend the orientation for 2.5 weeks prior though, but only for an hour or so. Yesterday was her first full day at daycare by herself.

My heart sank as I turned around and saw her looking back at me like that. 💔

Oh, and she’s sporting a fringe ‘cos I cut her hair for her earlier this week, hahahaha! Her front hair was getting so long that they kept irritating her eyes.

Mummy cut my fringe for me today. Do you like it? 💇🏻💁🏻💞💓

A post shared by Jessica Blaise Soong (@jessicablaise) on

 

My first day back at work was… mundane. Lol! I have after all, been working there for almost a decade already. Everything was like a second nature to me hey. One thing I still hated though, was the traffic jam on my way to work. 😪🔫

I couldn’t have hoped for the time to pass faster while I was in the office, haha. When I finally pulled up at the driveway at home and got down to open the garage door, I saw Mr S place her tiny body on the couch by the window.

ARGHHHH!!!! God, how I missed her.

Published by

Jessica Blaise S

Interior decor & photography enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

